Gluten Free

Gluten Free
Q:
Gluten Free

What does “Gluten Free” mean?

A:

Dr. Greene’s Answer:

Gluten is a composite of two proteins of some grass-related grains, including:

  • wheat (including kamut and spelt)
  • barley
  • rye
  • malt
  • triticale

In the last few years, awareness of gluten sensitivity and the understanding of celiac disease (which is caused by an abnormal immune reaction to the components in gluten) has increased, leading many food distributors and manufacturers to start identifying foods as gluten free. Here at DrGreene.com, we will share recipes that are labeled gluten free when appropriate.

A gluten-free diet can include:

  • Corn
  • Potatoes
  • Rice
  • Tapioca
  • Cassava
  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot
  • Millet
  • Quinoa
  • Sorghum
  • Sweet potato
  • Taro
  • Chia seed
  • Yam
  • Bean, soybean, and nut flours
  • Buckwheat (pure buckwheat only)
  • Oats (though oats may be contaminated with gluten or could otherwise cause problems for those who have gluten sensitivity)
  • Gram flour (derived from chickpeas  – not to be confused with Graham flour derived from wheat.)

 

Dr. Alan Greene

Article written by

Dr. Greene is the founder of DrGreene.com (cited by the AMA as “the pioneer physician Web site”), a practicing pediatrician, father of four, & author of Raising Baby Green & Feeding Baby Green. He appears frequently in the media including such venues as the The New York Times, the TODAY Show, Good Morning America, & the Dr. Oz Show.

 

Comments