What does “Gluten Free” mean?
Dr. Greene’s Answer:
Gluten is a composite of two proteins of some grass-related grains, including:
- wheat (including kamut and spelt)
In the last few years, awareness of gluten sensitivity and the understanding of celiac disease (which is caused by an abnormal immune reaction to the components in gluten) has increased, leading many food distributors and manufacturers to start identifying foods as gluten free. Here at DrGreene.com, we will share recipes that are labeled gluten free when appropriate.
A gluten-free diet can include:
- Sweet potato
- Chia seed
- Bean, soybean, and nut flours
- Buckwheat (pure buckwheat only)
- Oats (though oats may be contaminated with gluten or could otherwise cause problems for those who have gluten sensitivity)
- Gram flour (derived from chickpeas – not to be confused with Graham flour derived from wheat.)
Sign-up for DrGreene's Newsletter
About once a month we send updates with most popular content, childrens' health alerts and other information about raising healthy children. We will not share your email address and never spam.